Just another WordPress.com site

Help me choose!

This past week has seen some kind of transformation take place in me, I’m feeling…well, I’m feeling African. My English is taking on an African twist with sayings like  ‘small small’ and other African variations. These little changes in the language are becoming the first things coming to mind, and I’m increasingly accepting of the aspects that were most alien to me. The weather is something that doesn’t affect me as much as it used to, and as we’re preparing to welcome the next YSI team I am constantly reminded of the difference I feel now to the time I came with YSI almost exactly one year ago. When I came before I was afraid to go to a roadside store for fear of being ripped off. I judged everything from a perspective completely different from the perspective I have now. I look forward to exploring these concepts with the YSI guys. Nine days until they arrive.

Well this week I received an email from Service For Peace, an NGO I did a project with in Cote d’Ivoire. It’s National Volunteer Week in the US, and to celebrate it SFP are hosting a photography and short story competition. So I figured I’d send in a photo that I’ve shown here on the blog before, but I’m struggling to decide which one. So I’ve set up a little poll so you can vote for the picture you think I should send in, now considering it’s for an NGO about volunteering and service, when choosing which picture you’ll vote for, think about what the picture says, but whichever gets the most votes will be the one I send. You can have more than one vote if you can’t decide yourself. Happy voting, and enjoy my collection of photographs. I’ll announce the winner in 7 days.

Choose Your Favourite Picture, and use the poll to vote. Click for a larger version.

6 responses

  1. jason

    Can’t decide between 2 and 14, but swaying slightly more towards 14 i think. Washing clothes by hand, it kind of sends the message of service and volunteering across in a subtle, and not so obvious way, so making it more interesting in a photo, and a good quality image, with good perspective too, so . . . . 14. Good Job Pat. Can’t wait for you to come back and make me a bow and arrow.

    April 17, 2011 at 7:14 am

  2. Nice Pat. 2 or 9 for me. 9 gives me the sense of something big and unusual about to happen. 2 shows what you’re working for… the future.

    April 17, 2011 at 4:15 pm

  3. Stefan

    for me it’s 10, 21 and 22.

    April 17, 2011 at 5:17 pm

  4. Valgas

    Hey Pat,

    Great that you’re entering the competition, I hope you win!
    Purely aesthetically, I would vote for 15, as it delivered the biggest impact when I first viewed it. But considering the brief, I’d say 7; it is more literal, but also well composed and interesting, probably the most well rounded photograph for the competition. It’s a shame that they will only accept one image…

    Good luck!

    April 17, 2011 at 8:36 pm

  5. Matthew Huish

    I went for 2 – for me it conveys the message of bringing a community of people together, working hand-in-hand to bring about positive change to a community. the long shadows on the ground convey the sense of lasting impact beyond the immediate influence today. and the line trailing into the horizon also gives the sense that a legacy will be passed on to future generations.

    very poetic, maybe in an obvious way, but i’m a simple person when it comes to art, so that’s probably why i like it

    April 18, 2011 at 10:07 am

  6. Valgas

    I meant 2********

    April 19, 2011 at 11:47 pm

Leave a Reply

