Just another WordPress.com site

On Faith and Friendship

It’s always great to do some hard physical labour and feel satisfied when the task is complete. With sweat on my brow I can look upon the completed task with satisfaction. Today that task was cleaning the home YSI will use during their stay. It was a chance to bond with my fellow African brothers. My patience was tested as I was constantly told how I’m holding the broom wrong, or I’m sweeping the wrong way. I can already sense that when I leave this place the thing I will miss the most is the friendship I have made to some people here, the CPYWD staff and my host family. Friendship is an understatement, as for some I’m beginning to look up to them as uncles, aunts and brothers and sisters.

The relationships I have made have been strengthened by one thing which ties us all together very strongly, and that is faith. Ghanaians, particularly those who I am interacting with the most, are very religious, and I often hear songs of praise being sung around the house, and television shows with preaching and passages of scripture. It’s amazing that faith is so alive here, and when people are free to share their faith, they are free to interact on a deeper level. It’s a beautiful thing. I’ve learnt that there is a lot of respect to be gained when one shares that deeper aspect of  oneself. I remember when I was on a bus with my good friend Patrick Hanna in London. We were having a conversation about God in this bus, without thought of who could hear us, and as we talked a lady in front was turning occasionally to see our faces. Finally, when we arrived at her stop, she turned and said, ‘It’s great to hear young people talking about God like that!’.

My time with the children will also be something I will miss. Sometimes they can be little monsters crowding around you, making the air hot and stuffy and difficult to breath, but other times they make me laugh and make me smile. Anyway, still plenty of time left to enjoy everything, and I hope that all of you can feel connected; through these photos and through these words.

8 responses

  1. Great – as usual! But then I am biased.
    Take care Pat. We love you!

    April 8, 2011 at 7:03 pm

  2. Elinora Iversen

    love reading what you write patrick!!
    the photos are amazing, definitely helps me feel connected. 🙂

    April 8, 2011 at 8:10 pm

  3. Stefan

    Read it. Loved it.
    I’m getting a little jealous ^^ haha
    I hope you take way more pictures than you are uploading! 😉

    April 8, 2011 at 10:51 pm

  4. Matthew Huish

    true about discussing God in public – for some reason i still feel intensely aware of others around me while having those kinds of conversations on a packed commute

    April 9, 2011 at 9:14 pm

  5. jason

    As usual, a gripping and heart felt article. Thanks Patrick!!

    April 9, 2011 at 10:15 pm

  6. jason

    Wow! looking at your photos, just makes me cry, (a tiny bit) i don’t know why exactly, i get a great sense of beauty from them.

    April 9, 2011 at 10:19 pm

  7. Linda Bachman

    Hello Patrick,

    Its nice to read your interesting articles. The photos are realy great!!
    Thanks and greetings to your hostfamily and especially to Sanne. Take care and enjoy!

    April 14, 2011 at 2:26 pm

  8. Linda Bachman

    Hello Patrick,
    Just want you to say: we enjoy the interesting articles and your pictures are great! Wish you all the best, say hello to your hostfamily, especially to Sanne.

    April 14, 2011 at 8:25 pm

Leave a Reply

