Just another WordPress.com site

The Half Way Hump

I typed ‘Weather in Tamale’ into google today, and just laughed as it said 43 degrees C. We are now at the hottest time of the year, and it seems that every task produces bucket loads of sweat. I’m grateful that after two months, I’ve discovered that the fan in my room has 5 speed settings instead of just 3, and also grateful that the mangos growing on the trees around me are beginning to ripen. I heard money doesn’t grow on trees, but when you peel open the skin of a mango, and bite into its golden interior you immediately question that thought. It’s become routine for me to sit in my room, with towel, water and knife at the ready, about to begin the adventure of eating a mango. Juice covering my face and hands, and now my fan on speed 5, keeping me cool. Sounds like heaven.

Well, writing blog entries has become harder these past few weeks, and I do apologise for that. In every experience I have in a foreign land there is the ‘half way hump’. It is the part of my stay where time goes through a transition, and in the course of a few days, home seems so far away and then, a few days later, suddenly seems like it’s so close. With that half way hump comes the homesickness, which can sometimes be worse that the occasional stomach pains, and the effect is made worse by the larium, controlling my emotions and moods. Now I have passed over the hump, and each day comes and goes faster then I can think.

With less than four weeks until the next YSI – CPYWD Ghana project, I am beginning to feel excited. This past weekend has seen the project go from concepts and ideas on paper, to a structured schedule, with logistics running around in my mind, and project ideas having dates. We were joined by Mr. Philbert Seka, regional director for Service for Peace, who will be welcoming the team, guiding them in Accra, and also joining us here in the north. He organised the project I was involved with in Cote d’Ivoire back in 2009. I’m really looking forward to seeing some more familiar faces when the team arrive.

I’ll try to get posting more regularly again, but my goodness, time goes so quickly now, and my list of things to do doesn’t seem to be getting smaller.

8 responses

  1. Kathleen Moloney

    Looks incredible Patrick! sounds like you’re really making the most of it! Makes me want to go on an adventure 🙂

    March 30, 2011 at 9:46 am

  2. Valgas

    mate, those mangos…. The first time I bit into one, I couldn’t believe it. I thought Erwan was bigging it up, but seriously, it’s God’s own fruit man.
    Really nice photo of the kid with dice, great concept. I hope to see more photos in the near future. Set up a flickr!!

    love love.

    March 30, 2011 at 12:57 pm

  3. Toby Suda

    pat your class!

    March 30, 2011 at 7:24 pm

    • Patrick German

      ahh toby, you make me laugh

      March 30, 2011 at 7:58 pm

  4. Stefan

    Hey Buddy!
    Time’s flying, huh?
    I just kept up with reading your blog and it makes me feel like I’m back in Tamale.
    Your room looks rly nice! Great pictures as everyone said already.
    I recently bought a mango here from Peru. It was delicious when I tried it, but it left me unsatisfied. Fresh from the tree, rippend and juicy… sounds like I gotta come back ^^
    I agree with Valgas about the flickr 😉

    March 30, 2011 at 10:14 pm

    • Stefan

      bought more mangos 😀

      April 8, 2011 at 10:51 pm

  5. Matthew Huish

    now i really want a mango…

    March 31, 2011 at 2:11 pm

  6. Preston

    Patrick, I miss you

    April 4, 2011 at 3:12 am

Leave a Reply

