Just another WordPress.com site

A Record Breaking day!

I’m in a mood to break records. This is officially now my longest stay in an African country, and from here on out I’m breaking that record every single day. I can wake up each morning to know that I have achieved another personal best!

Another record which we’re about to break together is the 1000 all time views of my blog…just a few more are needed. Thank you so much for the support everybody. I’m actually amazed that something I started as a small project to keep others informed of what I was going through, has turned into a platform of support. Because of my blog, my creativity is being tested. Creativity of photography, creativity of writing, and creativity of thought. I hope I can continue to entertain you all.

So, we’ve covered the longest stay in Africa, and we’ve covered the 1000 views…Ah! I have another record. Today I went to the hospital for a blood test and it turns out I have Malaria and Typhoid fever. Oh boy. That’s a first. As well as my Larium has been treating me, with all those dreams, it couldn’t prevent everything…well at least it softened the blow. I’ve been coping with a headache, and muscle aches for the past 6 days, so finally I took the test and received a large amount of pills to take me through the next few days. I’ve been lucky not to get really sick, but it still limits the amount I can do. However, after all the rest, and hours of staring at the faded blue walls of my room, I was grateful for a motorbike ride to the hospital where I realised where I was again. I’m in Ghana, and there is so much for me to experience here…including the sickness!

8 responses

  1. Tanya

    yay pat!! congrats congrats on ur new records 😀 and yeah, “enjoy” the sickness~ all a part of the experience, so i guess u are truly living it up! haha take care and eat them mangoes for me :}

    February 16, 2011 at 6:43 pm

  2. Stefan

    Ai! all the piles, preperations and dreams and now you do have malarium. maaaan!
    Keep your attitude though! I’m supporting and cheering you on in thought and word.
    Hope you get well soooon!

    February 16, 2011 at 7:20 pm

    • Stefan

      Congratulations, greetings and fast recovery from my mum!

      February 16, 2011 at 7:26 pm

  3. Valgas

    Wohoooo, congrats haha.

    I hope you get well soon Pat, I hope it doesn’t stop you taking photos. Do some self portraits!
    I’m glad you’re challenging your creativity, I hope you come back from Africa with a feeling of accomplishment.

    keep it up!

    February 16, 2011 at 8:20 pm

  4. Tanya

    Wow sounds like you’re really experiencing everything over there, Pat. Really nice to read your blogs – such a different world out there! Get better soon 🙂

    February 17, 2011 at 12:52 am

  5. I’ve read the sintoms of the malaria, and I guess it won’t be as easy as people may think. Be sure you’re under the cares of the medicine and a good doctor!!

    February 19, 2011 at 8:32 am

  6. Yemi

    Hey Pat!!!
    Oh goodness I feel sorry for you, please take care and enjoy your time there!!
    I really like this blog!! All the best, yemi

    February 20, 2011 at 3:58 pm

  7. Kazuha

    I know I’m late but I hope your symptoms have disappeared by now! Keep it up Patrick! It’s so amazing what you are doing! I hope you can live in the moment, every single minute. That’s such a great opportunity that will shape your life forever!

    We are thinking of you! Greetings from the USA

    March 4, 2011 at 3:06 am

Leave a Reply

