Just another WordPress.com site

Capturing confidence…

Confidence is something I always find wanting in myself. Though greatly improved through my experiences over the last few years, I constantly come across situations that require confidence. Today, Saturday, I decided to go for a bike ride into the country. My purpose was to take photos, and it was in this that my confidence was tested. Packing enough water to survive the trip, I set out on my mini adventure. A 40 minute bike ride found me in the middle of nowhere. I was in one of those rare places where you can’t hear any civilisation. No cars, no factories, no buzz of electricity…just the wind, and the squeak of my bike, pressing on through the dirt roads. Maybe it’s not as rare to find it here in Ghana, but there is a feeling of freedom that comes with the silence.

As I passed through savannah land I stopped to admire the view, the sound and the smell. Flies fiddling with my ear, and sweat on my brow. It was nice to take pictures of the silence…but it wasn’t satisfying enough. I wanted to photograph the people, the culture and lifestyle. In the distance I saw a lady sifting sand from hay, and another lady carrying a pot on her head. This time I was on my own, with no one to translate for me, and these country people don’t speak English. It took a few minutes of standing under the sun, thinking of the possibilities before I decided to brave the culture clash and go and ask them if I could take photos of them. Success!!! Confidence boosted, and a great few hours out!

My activities this week have gone beyond the conscious world as well. Because of my Larium, anti-malaria medication, I have been having dreams every single night!! Sometimes more than one. I have been swimming in some huge pool with friends, climbing mountains and taking some incredible photos of nature in Finland, even sailing a sand ship through Ghana!!! Going to sleep is an exciting prospect, wondering what adventures I will have during the night. Take care everyone!

Here is a panoramic view of the countryside. Click on it to see the large version:

Click to see full size version.

12 responses

  1. Daniel Pollitt

    Wow, really liking this blog paddy-boy! It’s really inspiring to see you living the dream, going beyond yourself, constantly learning and growing.

    Keep up the great work my brother!

    February 5, 2011 at 5:08 pm

  2. Tanya

    astounding photos!! i had a flash of the future just now… that you’re gonna be world famous with all your pictures and experiences. it was a cool thought :] congrats on your newfound confidence pat. justin would be proud ;p

    February 5, 2011 at 5:47 pm

  3. Emi

    oh wow, great pictures!!
    i love how you capture your adventure in pictures.>< there should be a book some time.^^
    thank you for letting the world be part of your development! happy everytime i'm reading. 😀

    February 5, 2011 at 7:05 pm

  4. Dad

    Great pictures. What about snakes and lions? Aren’t there any around?

    February 5, 2011 at 8:19 pm

  5. Dad

    Fantastic pics

    February 5, 2011 at 8:21 pm

  6. Valgas

    Awesome post Pat. Keep taking photos…I want more!! haha.

    I love the journey this blog is taking me on too, really inspiring.

    February 6, 2011 at 4:27 pm

  7. Incredible pictures!
    Incredible writtings!
    You’re reaching the highest of yourself, isn’t it? You may be full of emotion!

    February 6, 2011 at 10:16 pm

  8. P Hanna

    Love the panoramic shot. Watching a documentary about chinese influence in africa, and my dad mentioned your blog again and how he was impressed by the talents on display. Keep it up – it will be quite something by the end of the 4 months.

    February 8, 2011 at 9:47 pm

  9. Samuel R

    Woah awesome stuff Pat, and your blog is sweet! Thanks for updating us on your adventures so far its inspiring and uplifting 🙂

    February 10, 2011 at 11:53 pm

  10. Preston

    Looking good Patrick! I hope your bicycle was a bit better than the ones we had in Utrecht ;)looks like you are having a nice adventure so far…and you took some great photos too.

    February 11, 2011 at 3:41 pm

  11. WOW, I came by this blog just by chance, and I am so glad I did.

    A VERY keen eye and great ‘journalistic’ reportage photography!!!
    You should send this to National Geographic … who knows 😉

    April 16, 2011 at 9:46 am

    • thanks for that, much appreciated.

      April 16, 2011 at 11:17 am

Leave a Reply

