Just another WordPress.com site

World Traveller!

The smell is what tells you, you’re in Africa. The first step off the plane takes you already, the air just smells…different. It smells African. It’s not an unpleasant smell…just different. I guess it’s the heat as well. There was no smooth transition from my cold European air to the thick, warm air of Accra, but I embraced it! I’m back, and I write this with a big smile stretching from ear to ear.

So far I’ve spent a day in Accra, visiting some locations with my guide, Evans, a 24 year old teacher of African arts. And then yesterday I travelled from Accra to Tamale. A near 14 hour journey, across the country. You can see the changing landscape from jungle in the south to savannah in the north, and the homes get simpler and simpler from city to countryside. I had my music with me and played some ‘Blood Diamond Soundtrack’ to get me in the spirit.

 

You can see the heat is getting to me...I'm a mess!

Some amazing Sand Art at the beach.

The home of my host family is very nice. I’m very lucky to have a room with a fan. In Accra, my nights were 90% tossing and turning in the heat and 10% sleep. Now it’s reversed, so I’m grateful. I’m sure it will take a few days to figure out where I am, what I’m doing, and how I can find my place in this Ghanaian society, but in time I’ll find my way.

I was very happy to see the boarding ticket for my flight. They added something to my name which I believe fits perfectly.

 

Patrick German, World Traveller

Patrick German, World Traveller.

I certainly feel like it. These days, I find myself one morning in London, then in Holland, then in Accra, and now in Tamale. My life is an adventure, and I’m inspired to see myself becoming a Global Citizen.  My mind naturally reminisces of my past experiences, those ‘moments’ where I touched something much deeper than myself. Whether it was driving through the Rocky mountains of Canada, watching stars in Austria, climbing mountains in Switzerland, camping out in Albania, walking through forests in Germany, sleeping in a van in Belgium, feeling the heat in Dubai, jungle rides in Cote d’Ivoire, or miles above the earth In a plane. I certainly am grateful that now I’m in Ghana, able to create those experiences for myself again. I hope what I’m writing can inspire at least one of you readers to go out and experience.

To all who have subscribed, you can change the frequency of emails you receive by going to the subscription settings at the bottom of the email. You can change it to receive emails weekly instead of every time I post.

11 responses

  1. tobysuda

    Hey Pat, inspiring read, loved it, good luck son

    January 26, 2011 at 2:22 pm

  2. Tanya

    You ARE a world traveler!! I’m so proud of you. go and make those amazing memories. they’ll turn out to be more precious than anything else in the world. let the world know about this awesome person that you are. take care and don’t get sick!!

    :]

    January 26, 2011 at 2:25 pm

  3. Stefan

    World Traveller! That’s awesome Pat! I enjoy reading your blog. Have a good start in Ghana!

    January 26, 2011 at 2:26 pm

  4. Pat. This is brilliant. Well done!!
    I’m feeling really inspired right now. Learn French I’m sure you’re the key for us to help out in Chad aswell.

    January 26, 2011 at 2:34 pm

  5. Jonathan

    Awesome Paddy! I feel privileged to have shared a few of your World Traveller experiences with you. All the best!

    January 26, 2011 at 2:36 pm

  6. Marko

    Nice read Pat, not a chore at all to read. Make sure you keep updating us with your photos (and films of course), good luck traveller.

    January 26, 2011 at 2:47 pm

  7. Presto

    Go Patrick!!!!

    January 26, 2011 at 4:39 pm

  8. Emi

    aju to tanya and stefan!:)
    a TRUE World Traveller, indeed. Man, all of that sounds so exciting, I’m really enjoying reading your blog.^^
    Looking forward to reading more! 😀

    January 26, 2011 at 5:38 pm

  9. Dad

    Wow Patrick! It moves me to tears to read your blog. I love it but I am biased. It does bring back memories of the past and thoughts of the future and maybe, when I’m on the other side I can return and walk with you and your descendants and relive all the good moments of my travelling while experiencing the great moments of yours and those of your descendants.

    January 26, 2011 at 6:52 pm

  10. Hi Patrick, your experiences are an example for my life. I wish I could have your courage!
    Jas

    January 27, 2011 at 8:16 pm

  11. Su-won

    Your know your seat number looks like “GOD”! Awesome man 🙂

    January 29, 2011 at 11:03 pm

Leave a Reply

