Just another WordPress.com site

Ghana Study Day!

It’s amazing how quickly time flies by. When I created this blog Ghana still felt so distant, but now I realise it’s only 6 days away. Once again I will find myself in a land that amazes me, a land that captures me. I’m very fortunate to be in the position I am in.

My last few weeks have been spent raising money, and buying all the things needed. I’m already two weeks into my anti-malaria medication, and experienced my first side effect, a night mare that woke me up early last night. My bags are packed and visa is ready; flight is booked and I’m just about ready to go. Externally I’m ready…I still need to get my internal sorted out.

I am actually now writing from Holland. I came to visit the new YSI volunteers and also to attend a Ghana Study day to help in my more internal preparations for Ghana. The content was extremely interesting, with a number of talks from professors, and other such qualified people who have had extensive experience in Africa and elsewhere around the world. One of the big topics was culture, what it is and how to deal with it. I found it very interesting.

The speaker said there are 5 issues that every society has to face. Biological needs, Kinship/relatives, Religion, Invisible Social Differences, and finally ‘Social Charity, aid and globalisation’. The way a society deals with these 5 issues is the culture, and differences in culture come from different approaches to these 5 issues. Very interesting, and very useful.

I also had a good chance to think about what I can offer to the people in Ghana. What are my skills? What are my qualifications? A lot of people who volunteer with CPYWD are doing it with their school, where they have a specific task or investigation set to them. I am going because I want to experience Africa, I want to understand ‘the situation’ whatever that situation is, and I want to offer something of myself. It’s going to be interesting how I will find my feet there.

 

2 responses

  1. Valgas

    Beautiful post Pat.

    I’d say one of your skills is your accepting and evaluating character. Not in a cheesy American way, in a practical honest way, I think your personality and presence alone will help motivate and get tasks done while you’re over there.
    And your voice. The video you posted last was a great demonstration that you can portray emotion through moving image. You will be able to go, see and report the story that you feel is important to tell. I’m extremely excited to see what comes out of this sincere and selfless campaign. (If you need any help with any putting together of footage etc etc, don’t hesitate to ask ok?)

    I believe you’re gonna’ have an amazing experience, and what you gain from the trip will help a much wider community.

    Good Luck!

    -Valgas

    January 18, 2011 at 7:06 am

  2. Emi

    I might have said that already, but I really think it is beautiful what you’re doing and that you take so much initiative and invest a lot of effort to make things happen.
    I’m really proud of you and also impressed.
    Go for it, Pat! I’m sure this is going to be incredible! 🙂

    Give all you have, bro!
    Take care.

    January 23, 2011 at 6:44 pm

Leave a Reply

