Just another WordPress.com site

T.I.A.

You can imagine a trip to Africa would contain these cinematic experiences that you never forget, where crazy things happen and you just end up saying ‘T.I.A’…This is Africa. I would like to share one of those experiences.

In Ghana, we stayed in a house, 4 guys to a room. We didn’t have fans, and barely had a window, so at night it got pretty stuffy. So bad that most nights i couldn’t sleep. Being sick didn’t help either. One night it was so uncomfortable that i went out into the shower and just had the water running over me, while using a bottle of shampoo as a pillow. I remember being crunched up in that small 1.5 x 1 meter space, a cold grey concrete floor, and faded white walls. Amazingly it was in those sleepless nights, while the water ran down my face, and as my stomach churned and growled that i determined to come back to Ghana. I smiled and said ‘T.I.A.’ Hah! I must be crazy!

Anyway to celebrate my experience i have made a video dedicated to the YSI team in Ghana. Enjoy!!

2 responses

  1. Valgas

    Pat that was great!

    A really moving piece. I can’t WAIT to see more now.

    All the best with the coming 4 months, to say I’m infinitely jealous is an understatement haha. Have a great time, and I hope you successful in everything you do over there.

    -Valgas

    January 18, 2011 at 6:52 am

  2. Su-won

    PATRICK!!! You’re amazing! Have a super great experience there in Africa, I’m so glad for you you’ve found such an inspiring field to work on. I really wish you every success in this 4 month, that I bet are gonna fly! 🙂
    wish you all the best man 🙂

    Su-won

    January 18, 2011 at 1:06 pm

Leave a Reply

